The historical status of the property, both as Chi Omega’s founding chapter and as a recognized property on the National Register of Historic Places, requires a timeless design that is reflective of the important character of this property. It also imposes some limitations on changes, particularly the front facade.
The entire original building (built in 1928) will remain, allowing us to maintain the original character of our founding chapter house. The two additions – added in 1941 and 1958 – have been demolished to allow for expansions that will maximize all available space and allow for a cohesive design that will seamlessly integrate with the original building.
The planned addition will expand down, north over the current parking lot, and to the west- providing more space and movement through the house. The east patio will also be enhanced.
Once complete, the new building will preserve the unique character of the chapter’s historic house at the top of the hill; future members will bond with alumnae over shared experiences, such as friendships made during time in the attics, and secrets shared in the Chapter Room. Yet the house will be transformed to better serve the needs of active undergraduate members today and for years to come.
Below are blueprints for each floor of the renovated house.